भा.कृ.अ.प. - भारतीय कृषि अनुसंधान संस्थान | ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute

Plant Pathology      (27 scientists)

Dr Govind pratap Rao


Field of Specialisation : Plant Pathology (Virology, Phytoplasma)

Dr Govind pratap Rao

Emeritus Scientist

M.Sc. : DDU Gorakhpur University

Ph.D : DDU Gorakhpur University

Google Scholar

PG School, Faculty Disciplines : Plant Pathology

No. of Students Guided : -    M.Sc :   04

   Ph.D :   02

Top 10 Publications having NAAS rating 6 and above with first or corresponding author only

  1. Sajad un Nabi ,Madhupriya , D. K. Dubey , G. P. Rao* , V. K. Baranwal& Pratibha Sharma (2015). Molecular characterization of �Candidatus Phytoplasma asteris� subgroup I-B associated with sesame phyllody disease and identification of its natural vector and weed reservoir in India. Australasian Plant Pathol. 44: 289�297. (NAAS 7.11)
  2. Madhupriya, G. P. Rao, Kumar A and Baranwal VK (2015). Classification of sesame phytoplasma strain in India at 16Sr subgroup level. Journal of Plant Pathology, 3: 523-528. (NAAS 6.82)
  3. Manish Kumar, Madhupriya and G. P.Rao(2016). Molecular characterization, vector identification and sources of phytoplasmas associated with brinjal little leaf disease in India.3 Biotech, 7:1-11. (NAAS 7.79)
  4. G. P. Rao, Ajay K. Tiwari, Madhupriya& Durgesh Dubey (2017). Identification and characterization of two phytoplasma subgroups (16SrXI-D and 16SrXIV-A) associated with lychee (Litchi chinensisSonn) in India.Jour Plant Dies. & Protec. DOI 10.1007/s41348-017-0084-x (NAAS 6.95)
  5. G.P. Rao and Manish Kumar (2017). Status of phytoplasma diseases associated with eggplant. Crop Protection, 96: 22- 29. (NAAS 8.17)
  6. G. P. Rao, Madhupriya, Manish Kumar, Sonica Tomar, Bishnu Maya, S. K. Singh and Joy Michal Johnson (2017). Detection and identification of four 16Sr subgroups of phytoplasmas associated with different legume crops in India. Eur J Plant Pathol., doi 10.1007/s10658-017-1278-6. ( NAAS IF 7.74)
  7. G.P. Rao, T.L. Prakasha, M. Priya, V. Thorat, M. Kumar, and V.K. Baranwal (2017). First report of association of Candidatus Phytoplasma cynodontis (16SrXI-B group) with streak, yellowing, and stunting disease in Durum and Bread wheat genotypes.Plant Disease, 101 (7): 1314. (NAAS IF 9.58)
  8. Gopala, Ekta Khasa, Ashutosh Rao, Madhupriya and G. P. Rao (2018). Molecular characterization of Clover proliferation phytoplasma subgroup-D (16SrVI-D) associated with vegetables crops in India. Physiology and Molecular Biology of Plants, 24(2):203210. (NAAS IF 7.54)
  9. G. P. Rao, Amar Bahadur, Sukhen Chandra Das, Hemavati Ranebennur, Surabhi Mitra, Manish Kumar and Shailender Kumar (2019). Firt report of 16Sr II-C subgroup phytoplasma association with Acacia Mangium in Tripura, India. Forest Pathology, DOI: 10.1111/efp.12573. (NAAS IF 7.43)
  10. G.P. Rao, Madem Gurivi Reddy, Madhu Priya, Amar Bahadur and Durgesh K. Dubey (2020). Characterization and genetic diversity of phytoplasmas associated with elephant foot yam (Amorphophallus paeoniifolius) in India. 3Biotech, 10:83 https://doi.org/10.1007/s13205-020-2069-x (NAAS IF 7.79)

Patent / Technologies / Methodologies / System etc. (Upto Five) :

  1. Development of polyclonal antibody against sugarcane viruses
  1. Developed protocol for purification of Sugarcane mosaic virus/Maize dwarf mosaic potyviruses
  1. Recombinant gene expression of coat protein for rice tungro spherical and bacilliform viruses
  1. Development of Duplex PCR assay for simultaneous detection of chickpea virusess and phytoplasmas
  1. dnaB, gyrA and gyrB genes based detection system for phytoplasmas

Awards / Recognitions / Fellowship (Upto Five) :

  1. Overseas BOYSCAST Associateship Award (1996) from DST, New Delhi.
  1. Vigyan Ratna Award, UP Govt, UPCST, Lucknow 2002
  1. Vishisht Agricultural Scientist Award, UP by UPCAR, Lucknow 2004
  1. Dr. Ram Badan Singh Vishisht Krishi Vaigyanik Puraskar-2014 by UPCAR, Lucknow, Govt of Uttar Pradesh in 2015
  1. SN Das Memorial Award, IPS, New Delhi 2019