भा.कृ.अ.प. - भारतीय कृषि अनुसंधान संस्थान | ICAR-Indian Agricultural Research Institute

Pusa Institute Ladies Association (PILA) &
Nehru Experimental Centre (NEC)


Nehru Experimental Centre (NEC)

Nehru Experimental Centre (NEC) is located in Pusa Campus and is having playschools and crèche for children of working women. It is a unique centre which is registered under the society’s act. This centre was established in 1966 and 15th August is celebrated as its foundation day. This centre merged out of the vision of Late Mrs. Mina Swaminathan during the period when Professor M. S. Swaminathan was Director of this Institute. This centre has completed five decades of service since its establishment. This centre runs two play schools by the name Udayan and Ankur for kids in the age group of 1-4 years. It also has a crèche by name of Blossom for children above 8 months of age. These schools are managed by women mostly on voluntary basis. Since this is run on a no profit no loss basis the fees is very meagre. The children get best of education in a family like environment and have been competing successfully in public schools in Delhi. By now more than 3000 students have passed this school and many of them are in very respectable assignments. Since this is located in the lush green Pusa campus children get to explore the environment by series of walks, observations, excursions etc. This centre not only caters to the needs of working women of IARI but also the sister Institutes like IASRI, NBPGR, NCIPM, NIPB etc., which are located in the vicinity. The current office bearers are as follows:

  • Patron: Dr. A. K. Singh, Director, IARI
  • President: Dr. Renu Singh,
  • Chairman: Dr. Nayan Ahmed, IARI
  • Secretary: Dr. M. Jayanthi, IARI
  • Joint Secretary: Dr. Rajarshi Roy Burman, IARI
  • Treasurer: Dr. Prolay Kumar Bhowmick, IARI
  • Head Mistress: Mrs. Asha Gaur, Inderpuri
  • Advisor: Dr. P. Mookerjee, Noida

Kindly contact for further details regarding admission etc.,
Telephone numbers of Incharges:
In charge of Ankur: Mrs. Chandrani /9968272461
In charge of Blossom: Ms. Vibha /8810411940
In charge of Udayan: Ms. Nandini Guha/ 9899280285
Secretary: Dr. M. Jayanthi, Principal Scientist, 8826773543