REPORT OF THE VISIT OF UGANDA DELEGATION TO ICAR-INDIAN AGRICULTURAL RESEARCH INSTITUTE (IARI), NEW DELHI ON 22nd JUNE 2023

The 24 member Uganda delegation (List is attached in Annexure) visited IARI on 22nd June 2023 at 2.00 PM. The participants from Indian side were:

Dr A.K. Singh, Director, IARI Dr C. Viswanathan, Joint Director (Research) Dr PS Brahmananda, Project Director, Water Technology Center Dr RN Padaria, Joint Director (Extension), IARI Dr Gopalkrishnan, Head, Division of Genetics Dr B.S. Tomar, Head, Div of Vegetable Science Dr MS Dhillon, Head, Division of Entomology Dr Renu Pandey, Head Division of Agriculture Physics Dr PK Sahoo, Head, Division of Agricultural Engineering Dr Suneha Goswami, Senior Scientist, Division of Biochemistry, IARI Dr Mandira Burman, Senior Scientist, Division of Soil Science and Agricultural Chemistry, IARI Dr Rajeev Ranjan Kumar, Principal Scientist, Division of Plant Physiology Dr Pramod Kumar, Principal Scientist & Incharge, PME

Dr A.K. Singh, Director, ICAR-IARI greeted the delegation at Prof M.S. Swaminathan Library, IARI. The film on IARI was screened before the delegates which depicts the history of IARI, the technological advancement in various fields of agriculture like development of basmati rice varieties, heat varieties, mustard varieties, the STFR meter, Hallur soft bajra atta, etc. It was followed by discussion session in which the delegates enthusiastically asked many questions related to the problem of agri residue management, food security, etc. The delegates were also shown the exhibits of IARI technology in the Library Conference hall gallery. Dr Gopal explained the development of basmati rice varieties and the research in the field which is being undertaken at IARI. Dr Suneha Goswami briefed about the Hallur Soft Bajra Atta and other biofortification programme being undersaken by the Division of Biochemistry. Dr Mandira Burman explained about the functioning of the STFR meter. The delegates also visited the Nananji Deshmukh Phenomics Facility were Dr Viswanathan explained the importance of the facility in variety development programme of IARI. The application of drone technology in agriculture was demonstrated to the visitors.

The Diplomats were very enthused to learn various issues related to agriculture.



Dr AK Singh, Director IARI offering the IARI bred basmati rice variety to Dr Sama Haq, Coordinator of Uganda Delegation



Dr Gopal explaining the basmati rice varieties bred by IARI





Group photo of Uganda Diplomats visiting IARI



Dr Viswanathan explaining the functioning of Nanaji Deshmukh Plant Phenomics Facility



The Uganda Diplomats showing keen interest to understand what phenotyping means



Dr Rajeev Ranjan Kumar explaining the application of drone in Agriculture



Annexure

The visitors are from 1st Special Course for Diplomats from Uganda (12-23 June 2023), Sushma Swaraj Institute of Foreign Service, Ministry of External Affairs

Coordinator: Ms Sama Haq, Faculty & Course Director, Sushma Swaraj Institute of Foreign Service, Ministry of External Affairs

S. No.	Name	Designation
1.	Ms. Najjuma Janat	Foreign Service Officer
2.	Mr. Amese Malinga Julius	Foreign Service Officer
3.	Ms. Namuddu Jessica	Foreign Service Officer
4.	Mr. Bwambale Syahuka Moses	Foreign Service Officer
5.	Ms. Azena Nambalirwa	Foreign Service Officer
6.	Mr. Richard Lwamafa Buhanya	Foreign Service Officer
7.	Ms. Nakawombe Georgina	Foreign Service Officer
8.	Ms. Akello Nancy Lokech	Foreign Service Officer
9.	Ms. Alishia Kaikara Kiiza	Foreign Service Officer
10.	Mr. Oriokot Joshua	Human Resource Officer
11.	Ms. Rosemary Asiimwe	Diplomatic Secretary
12.	Mr. Emmanuel Baine	Protocol Officer
13.	Ms. Bonitah Ampaire Mugume	Protocol Officer
14.	Ms. Beatrice Nabwire	Protocol Officer
15.	Mr. Onyong Yubu	Protocol Officer
16.	Ms. Martha Duke Isiagi	Protocol Officer
17.	Mr. Imunat Ben	Protocol Officer
18.	Mr. Jakony Brian	Protocol Officer
19.	Mr. Godwin Asiimwe	Protocol Officer
20.	Mr. Moses Balinda	Foreign Service Officer
21.	Mr. Turinawe Collins Edmund Nabimanya	Protocol Officer
22.	Ms. Nakazzi Barbra	Protocol Immigration
23.	Ms. Ndangiza Afua Mukundete	Protocol Immigration
24.	Ms. Ekyakunzire Ruth	Protocol Officer